Logic and Search (LaSh’10)



third International workshop

on Logic and Search

July 15, 2010

A satellite workshop of FloC 2010, Edinburgh, UK

Affiliated with SAT’10 and ICLP’10

Workshop Co-Chairs

David Mitchell

School of Computing Science

Simon Fraser University

Burnaby, B.C.


Phone: +1 778.782.6673

Fax: +1 778.782.3045



Eugenia Ternovska

School of Computing Science

Simon Fraser University

Burnaby, B.C.


Phone: +1 778.782.4771

Fax: +1 778.782.3045



                          CALL FOR PAPERS

                             LaSh 2010

                Third Workshop on Logic and Search

                       July 15, 2010, Edinburgh


                 A SAT/ICLP Workshop at FLoC 2010     


Many challenging problems in computer science and application areas

involve constructing a combinatorial object satisfying given properties.  

Examples include exam timetables, shop schedules, phylogenetic trees,

system configurations, and computations that demonstrate a hardware or

software bug.  A number of communities are developing general purpose

tools and techniques for solving such problems, including researchers

in SAT, ASP, SMT, constraint modelling languages, CSP, finite FO model

generation, Integer Programming, and others.

A general approach to solving these problems is to have users represent

the properties of a solution in some logic-based formalism, and then

use a solver to construct models for the representation.  Practical

effectiveness of this approach has been clearly demonstrated by, for

example, the success of SAT and SMT techniques in formal verification.  

In addition to widespread work on effective ground solvers, a number  

of communities have been developing high level declarative modelling or

representation languages, which are essential for broad applicability.

The goal of the LaSh workshops is to bring together researchers from

all relevant areas to foster the exchange and development of ideas

in both theory and practice of logic-based methods for combinatorial

problem solving. LaSh is an occasion to discuss specific technical

problems, formulate challenges and opportunities, compare and contrast

techniques of different groups, and examine possible synergies and

integrations.  LaSh 2010 follows LaSh 2006, an ICLPLP workshop at

FLoC 2006 (www.easychair.org/FLoC-06/LaSh.html), and LaSh 2008, a

two day stand-alone workshop (www.cs.kuleuven.be/~dtai/LaSh08).

We invite contributions to modeling languages, methodology, theory,

algorithms and systems.  To facilitate discussion of the most relevant

current research, we welcome submission of previously-published

research as well as new work.  Authors may also submit to a follow-up

journal special issue.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

   * modeling languages and techniques

   * logics

   * solver design and implementation

   * expressiveness and complexity

   * algorithms for grounding and solving

   * logics-based methods for optimization problems

   * new applications

   * system descriptions

   * experimental evaluations

LaSh 2010 will feature invited talks, technical paper sessions, a

special session on grounding, a demo session, and a panel/open problem



Grounding plays an important role in many areas, including constraint

programming, theorem proving, and answer set programming, to mention

a few.  It provides the essential connection between high-level

problem representations and efficient ground solvers.

Despite the importance, the literature on grounding is limited

and there has been little interaction between its many application

areas.  The goal of the this special session is to begin to improve

this situation.


The workshop proceedings will be informal and electronic.  Authors

are invited to submit (possibly extended) versions of their papers to

a post-workshop special issue of AI Communications.  These submissions,

which will undergo a separate round of review, must be of high quality

and satisfy the requirements of the journal.


We welcome submissions of three kinds:

* Regular technical papers, presenting previously unpublished research;

* Short papers (system descriptions; work in progress; position papers);

* Presentation-only papers, presenting research that is highly relevant

    but which will have previously been presented elsewhere. (Authors

    may elect to have such papers excluded from the  proceedings.)

At the time of submission, authors are requested to clearly specify

whether their submission is new or previously published, by adding

(New Work) or (Presentation Only) as an additional line in the paper


Each submissions will be reviewed by at least two members of the

program committee.   

Submissions may be in any common format, such as LNCS, AAAI and

Easychair.  We prefer that submissions not exceed the equivalent

of 15 LNCS pages (5 pages for short papers).  Authors should submit

a PDF file via Easychair, at



Paper Submission:                    April 7

Notification of Acceptance:       April 30

Camera Ready Deadline:          May   15

Workshop:                                 July  15


David Mitchell               Simon Fraser University, Canada

Eugenia Ternovska       Simon Fraser University, Canada


Peter Baumgartner, The Australian National University

Koen Claessen, Chalmers University of Technology

Adnan Darwiche, UCLA

Marc Denecker, Catholic University of Leuven

Thomas Eiter, Vienna University of Technology

Alan Frisch, University of York

Enrico Giunchiglia, University of Genova

Tomi Janhunen, Aalto University

Daniel LeBerre, Universite d'Artois

Ines Lynce, INESC-ID

Pierre Marquis, Universite d'Artois

Tony Mancini, Sapienza Universita di Roma

David Mitchell, Simon Fraser University

Ilkka Niemela, Helsinki University of Technology

Robert Nieuwenhuis, UPC

Barry O'Sullivan, University College Cork

Torsten Schaub, Universitat Potsdam

Eugenia Ternovska, Simon Fraser University

Mirek Truszczynski, University of Kentucky

Emina Torlak, IBM

Victor Marek, University of Kentucky

Toby Walsh, University of New South Wales


Enrico Giunchiglia, University of Genova

Victor Marek, University of Kentucky

David Mitchell, Simon Fraser University

Eugenia Ternovska Simon Fraser University

Mirek Truzczynski, University of Kentucky

Marc Denecker, K.U.Leuven

Sponsor: Simon Fraser University